happy, i hope

January, 2013. Happy new year. 

My knees have recovered from the dancing I did to usher in 2013, the dancing I did with other parents as our new teenagers gaped disdainfully at us from the couch. At least none of them had smart phones out with which to document our middle-aged boogie business and post it online. How devastating it would be to actually see those moves that feel so good and right while I’m doing them. Because they give me the same emotional lift they did when I was a teenager, my inner picture of my grooving self is of that 13-20 year old body, not the much higher-mass version I live in now. 

And so this theme for 2013–to focus on the feeling rather than the appearance. Because to the rest of the world, and most especially the young people by whom I am surrounded, I will likely never achieve cool again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment